The smexiest men alive: Mr Noah Werner Winslow

  1. How did you start with menswear?  What was your first contact with classic menswear?

It all started at age 14, when I began making copies of 19thcentury garments thanks to my interest in history. The construction techniques of those old clothings are nearly identical to that of today’s bespoke suits, and learning how to make those old clothes introduced me to today’s. Knowing how classic menswear is put together, and seeing the evolution from the 19thto today made me begin to appreciate modern clothing. It’s sort of spiraled out of control from there.

  1. How do you normally put your outfit together?

I don’t have a formula, but usually I begin centered on one piece of clothing. It might be something I particularly want to wear, or it might be something that just fits with my mood that day. But usually once I have one piece of clothing- a jacket, or trouser, or what have you- I build out my outfit from there, choosing other pieces of clothing that work well.

I find I usually choose by colour. I’m becoming a big fan of using tangential and tonal, instead of contrasting, colours. For example, as I’m answering this question I’m wearing a pair of khaki-brown trousers. It’s a pretty common pairing to wear brown trousers contrasted with a blue shirt- which isn’t a bad look- but I’m wearing these with a yellow-stripe shirt. Another example could be a white shirt with ecru trousers. You get the idea. I find that by having most colours close together, instead of contrasting, makes an outfit far more harmonious.

  1. Tips for starters?

I think first look around. Of course, people always say “be original” and you should be. But everyone has to start somewhere and to begin, look at people around you, or online. Or TV, or movies, or anywhere. If you like what you see, do it. Wear it. I’ve got a folder full of pictures of other people’s clothing and outfits I like. Once you get a sense of what sorts of things you like and don’t like, you can understand where to go from there. You can figure out for yourself what style is most attractive, if you want wide or narrow trousers, double-breasted or single-breasted suits, and what feels most you.

Also, expect to make some wrong purchases. I’d love to have the money back from all the bad purchases I’ve made, but I’d probably spend that money on something else I never wear. Sometimes you like the way something looks, buy it and wear it, and realize it just doesn’t work after all. As long as you can step back and see why something doesn’t work, it was a good lesson.

  1. How would you describe your style?

Tough question. I guess roughly a mid-century style. Particularly given my history-rooted start in menswear, I find myself often looking to the past for inspiration. I figure if, after all these years, an outfit from then still appeals to me, it must be doing something right. It is a balance, though, because it’s very easy to go too far and look like a caricature of someone from 50 years ago. So my particular style is always a balance between my affection for mid-century and my modern life.

  1. Where do you look for inspiration? Who are your role models when it comes to style?

Well, I hesitate to say people like Cary Grant, or Sean Connery. Those aren’t very interesting answers and besides, everyone cites them. But they are good examples of classic done well, and it can be worth looking at them every now and again. Now Humphrey Bogart, I like a lot. He has a very natural sense of dressing; he’s perfectly comfortable and at ease in whatever he wears. Plus, we’re both the same size and neither of us are leading-man handsome which gives me a certain sense of kinship with him.

For people right now: I think Ethan Newton is doing many things well. Even when I don’t care for a particular piece of clothing he might be wearing in a picture, I’m always intrigued by his overall look. Ralph Lauren, too. There’s a lot of things he does I actively don’t like- think jeans and black tie- but when he’s good there’s no one like him. Yukio Akamine has a seemingly endless wardrobe, and he uses it to great effect. All his outfits are wonderfully personal, each combination unique, and his daily pictures are a pleasure to look through.

And of course I must mention Max Mogg. His enthusiasm for double-breasted suits is contagious, and I’m happy to have caught the bug.

  1. Which are your favourite brands at the moment and why?

There are a couple I’m very interested in right now: Bryceland’s, and Scott Fraser which, now that I think about it, both do a very good job of drawing inspiration from vintage sources and bringing it into modern day.

Bryceland’s not only has some very cool pieces on its own: rayon shirts and buffalo check hunting jackets spring to mind, but Ethan Newton embraces an unashamedly masculine silhouette in his dress. In a world with a lot of questionable unisex clothing, it’s a nice thing to see and a good reminder of how tailoring shapes the body.

Scott Fraser has some cool stuff going on now. I originally found him through his wide-legged trousers, one of the few places to buy them online. But I stuck around when I saw some of the other items he has on offer. He’s got a great sense of proportions going on, with high waisted trousers, short over-shirts, and a very easy, relaxed sensibility. Plus, he clearly embraces summer, a bit of seasonal rebellion I share.

  1. Do you have a favorite garment and is there a piece of clothing that you would never wear?

A favourite garment is tough- there are so many that I enjoy wearing. I think right now it probably is a seersucker button-down shirt. It’s light, airy, incredibly comfortable to wear, and manages to work with almost everything I own. Unlike many tailoring enthusiasts, I tend to prefer summer over winter, and I can hold onto the summer a little longer each time I wear it.

Something to never wear? One thing comes immediately to mind: short sleeve dress shirts. Think Dwight Schrute from The Office. I think those shirts are incredibly ugly, and a symbol of the bane of any menswear enthusiast: business casual. Seriously, just roll up your sleeves. It looks so much better.

5 quick questions

  1. Your favourite Bond movie?

Dr. No. The opening scene is one of my all time favourites. However, my favourite Bond theme is You Only Live Twice.

  1. Your favourite shirt colour?

It may seem boring, but I like a simple white shirt.

  1. Your favourite shoe model?

My current favourite is a pair of Allen Edmonds loafers, in a dark brown.

  1. Break or no break?

Break

  1. DB or SB?

Double

 

MM/NWW/DPFC

 

 

Maximilian Mogg

Kreativdirektor & Chefredakteur

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

THE SMEXY PLAYLIST GETS A #SMEXYDJ

It is an absolute pleasure to announce that, from now on, we‘ll have a new guest DJ (aka a #SMEXYDJ) every week who will share their taste in music with us.

After their playlist is published, they will nominate the next #SMEXYDJ. Why?! Because we want to share the best music this world has to offer!

Hören Sie doch mal rein!

The smexiest men alive: Mr Noah Werner Winslow

by

Maximilian Mogg

1. Wie kamen Sie zur Herrenmode? Was war Ihr erster Kontakt mit klassischer Herrenmode?

Alles hat angefangen als ich 14 war. Aufgrund meiner Begeisterung für Geschichte, fertigte ich Kleidungsstücke an, die vom 19. Jahrhundert inspiriert waren. Die Konstruktion dieser Kleidungsstücke ähnelt der von heutigen Maßanzügen stark. Der Kontakt zu älteren Kleidungsstücken, ihrer Fertigung und der Entwicklung der Mode seit dem 19. Jahrhundert hat mich also zur gegenwärtigen Herrenmode gebracht. Von da an geriet alles ein wenig außer Kontrolle.

2. Wie stellen Sie üblicherweise Ihre Outfits zusammen?

Ich habe keine bestimmte Formel. Normalerweise fange ich jedoch mit einem einzigen Stück an. Das kann ein Kleidungsstück sein, das ich unbedingt tragen möchte oder etwas, das meiner Tagessstimmung entspricht. Sobald ich dieses Teil ausgewählt habe – ein Jackett, eine Hose oder was auch immer Ihnen einfällt – konstruiere ich das Outfit drum herum, indem ich ergänzende Kleidungsstücke wähle.

Üblicherweise treffe ich meine Wahl anhand von Farben. Ich neige immer stärker dazu, Farbtöne zu wählen, die im gleichen Spektrum liegen – anstelle von kontrastierenden Tönen. Ein Beispiel: Im Moment trage ich eine khakifarbene Hose. Normalerweise würde dazu ein blaues Hemd passen – sicherlich keine schlechte Kombination. Ich trage zu dieser Hose jedoch ein gelbgestreiftes Hemd. Ein anderes Beispiel wäre ein weißes Hemd zu ecrufarbenen Hosen. Sie verstehen, was ich meine. Meiner Meinung nach entsteht ein sehr viel harmonischer Eindruck, wenn ein Outfit aus ähnlichen, nicht aus kontrastreichen, Farben zusammengestellt wird.

3. Tipps für Anfänger?

Zunächst einmal: Verschaffen Sie sich einen Überblick. Natürlich bekommen wir immer gesagt, möglichst „originell“ zu sein – das sollten wir auch sein. Nichtsdestotrotz muss jeder irgendwo anfangen. Beobachten Sie die Menschen in Ihrer Umgebung, in Fernsehserien, Filmen oder auf Internetplattformen. Wenn Sie etwas sehen, das Ihnen gefällt, tragen Sie es. Ich habe einen ganzen Ordner voll mit Bildern von Outfits anderer Leute, die mich inspirieren. So können Sie einen Sinn für Dinge entwickeln, die Ihnen gefallen und solche, die Ihnen weniger gut gefallen. Das ist der erste wichtige Schritt. Welcher Stil Ihnen am besten gefällt, können Sie dann natürlich selbst entscheiden. Weite oder schmale Hosen, zweireihige Jacketts oder einreihige – was auch immer Ihnen beliebt.

Haben Sie keine Angst, den ein oder anderen Fehlkauf zu tätigen. Ich hätte das Geld, das ich in Fehlkäufe gesteckt habe, liebend gerne zurück. Aber ich hätte wahrscheinlich stattdessen etwas anderes gekauft, das ich nie getragen hätte. Manchmal gefällt mir etwas, ich kaufe es und stelle erst beim Tragen fest, dass es doch nicht so gut funktioniert. Wenn ich dadurch verstehe, weshalb dieses Teil nicht zu meiner Garderobe passt, war es zumindest gut investiertes Lehrgeld.

4. Wie würden Sie Ihren Stil beschreiben?

Schwierige Frage. Mid-century trifft es vielleicht ganz grob. Aufgrund meines historischen Zugangs zur Herrenmode blicke ich oft zurück in die Vergangenheit auf der Suche nach Inspiration. Sollte ein Outfit nach all den Jahren noch immer Begeisterung in mir auslösen, dann kann es nicht so schlecht sein. Eine gewisse Distanz muss natürlich eingehalten werden, sonst sieht man schnell aus wie eine Karikatur aus den 50ern. Mein Stil basiert also auf einer Balance zwischen meiner Vorliebe für den mid-century-Stil und meinem modernen Leben.

5. Wo finden Sie stilistische Inspiration? Wer sind Ihre Vorbilder?

Ich zögere, Personen wie Cary Grant oder Sean Connery zu nennen. Ihr Stil ist nicht besonders spannend und außerdem würde jeder diese Namen nennen. Ihr Stil ist klassisch und es schadet bestimmt nicht, immer mal wieder auf sie zurückzugreifen. Humphrey Bogart – hingegen – gefällt mir sehr gut. Er hat einen natürlichen Sinn für Kleidung und trägt alles mit einer gewissen Nonchalance. Noch dazu sind wir ungefähr gleich groß und uns beiden fehlt die klassische Schönheit eines Hauptdarstellers, weshalb ich mich sehr verbunden fühle.

Unter den Zeitgenossen würde mir Ethan Newton einfallen – er macht vieles richtig. Einzelne Kleidungsstücke gefallen mir manchmal nicht so gut, aber der gesamte Look ist meist sehr spannend. Das Gleiche gilt übrigens für Ralph Lauren. Jeans zu Blacktie würde ich niemals tragen. Aber an den guten Tagen kann es niemand mit ihm aufnehmen. Yukio Akamine besitzt eine scheinbar unerschöpfliche Garderobe und macht guten Gebrauch davon. Seine Outfits sind sehr persönlich, jede Kombination ist einzigartig und es macht großen Spaß, seine täglichen Fotos anzuschauen.

6. Welche Marken gefallen Ihnen zurzeit am besten und weshalb?

Da gibt es ein paar, die ich im Moment sehr interessant finde. Bryceland’s und Scott Fraser, zum Beispiel, schaffen es sehr gut, Vintage-Elemente in einem modernen Look zu vereinen.

Bryceland’s hat ein paar sehr coole Stücke: Hemden aus Rayon und Jadgjacken mit Buffalo-Mustern fallen mir spontan ein. In einer Welt voller fragwürdiger Unisex-Kleidung, ist Ethan Newtons unverblümt maskuline Silhouette eine gute Erinnerung daran, wie tailoring einen Körper formen kann.

Scott Fraser hat derzeit auch sehr schöne Sachen. Ich kam über eine der wenigen Webseiten, die seine weitgeschnittenen Hosen anbieten auf den Geschmack. Er hat einen tollen Sinn für Proportionen. Hochgeschnittene Hosen ergeben in Kombination mit kurzen Überhemden einen sehr entspannten Look. Außerdem kreiert er vor allem Outfits für den Sommer – eine saisonale Rebellion, die ich gerne unterstütze.

7. Haben Sie ein Lieblingsstück und gibt es Dinge, die Sie niemals tragen würden?

Ein Lieblingsstück – das ist schwer. Es gibt so vieles, das ich gerne trage. Im Moment ist es wohl am ehesten ein button-down Hemd aus Seersucker. Es ist leicht, luftig, unglaublich bequem und passt zu fast allem, was ich sonst noch besitze. Im Gegensatz zu den meisten Enthusiasten klassischer Herrenmode bevorzuge ich den Sommer – und mit diesem Stück kann ich den Sommer noch ein wenig hinauszögern.

Was würde ich niemals tragen? Kurzärmlige Business-Hemden. Das erinnert mich an Dwight Schrute aus The Office (dem Äquivalent zu Berthold „Ernie“ Heisterkamp für alle Stromberg-Fans unter Ihnen). Diese Hemden finde ich unfassbar hässlich und sie entsprechen dem Fluch eines jeden Enthusiasten der klassischen Herrenmode: Business casual. Im Ernst: Krempeln Sie einfach Ihre Ärmel hoch. Das sieht um Längen besser aus.

Fünf kurze Fragen:

  1. Ihr Lieblings-Bond?
    Dr. No. Die allererste Szene ist eine meiner absoluten Lieblingsszenen. Meine Lieblingstitelmusik ist jedoch aus Man lebt nur zweimal.
  2. Ihre Lieblingsfarbe für Hemden?
    Das klingt vielleicht langweilig, aber es geht nichts über ein weißes Hemd.
  3. Ihr Lieblings-Schuhmodell?
    Aktuell sind ein Paar dunkelbraune Allen Edmonds-Loafer meine Lieblingsschuhe.
  4. Break or no break?
    Break.
  5. Zweireiher oder Einreiher?
    Zweireiher.

NWW/MM/YS

Sommerferien 2020

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren, 

 

von Sonntag, dem 16.08.2020, bis einschließlich Montag, den 07.09.2020, bleibt das Atelier geschlossen. Wir freuen uns darauf, Sie im September wiederzusehen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Ihr Maximilian Mogg