S2E3 – Flamingos do not only drink water

Once they have turned the corner, Olivier immediately points to a nearby drain cover. The zebraffes’ hooves come to a screeching stop and Lush (first alone, then with some help from Olivier) lifts the cover and pushes it aside – all the while, Kiki and Kuku impatiently tapping their hooves. They take one last look to see if they’ve been followed, before Olivier begins the short descent into darkness. Lush gallantly lets the zebraffes go first before scrambling after his friends. As Lush tries to pull the cover back into place, his feline companion yells, “Are you mad? I cannot light this lamp (which I VERY conveniently just found down here) in the dark.” Olivier lights his tiny Funhill lighter and ignites the oil lamp. He gives his squad the hand sign to follow. Lush pushes the cover back into place with all of his strength before jumping down the ladder into the sewer.

It smells like rat poison, excrement, and discarded food. Londoners don’t seem to eat very well, Lush thinks. Holding their noses, they wade through the pitch-black sewers of London. Lush cannot recall ever having been this deep under the city before.

“Where are you taking us, Olivier?”, Kiki asks. “To a bar, of course”, replies Olivier. Lush groans and stops moving, before screaming: “Firstly, it’s only just past 4pm and you’re already thinking about drinking? Secondly, we’re wanted by the police and we’re going to a public place?” “To your first point”, responds Olivier calmly, “people in glass houses…” Advantage ocelot. “To the second, unlike you, not all bars I frequent are open to the public. Now, calm down, be quiet, and stop complaining.” Game, set, and match. The next few minutes pass in a grumpy silence while our heroes continue their journey through the sewers before Kuku chimes in: “I’ve always wondered… Why shouldn’t people in glass houses throw stones?” “We’re here!”, announces Olivier, before knocking on a small steel door. “I’ll do the talking. Zebraffes, your job is to look cute. You, Lush, keep shtum.”

In response to Olivier’s dainty knock, a small eye slit opens, sans eye. “Code?” “Flamingos do not only drink water,” answers our ocelot friend. The door swings open. Lush can barely believe his eyes. The bar is entirely filled with animals. The doorman is a blue budgie in an ill-fitting black suit. At the bar, a small pack of leopards clad entirely in biker garb are downing what Lush suspects might not be their first beers of the evening next to a number of gazelles in alluring poses. Out of the corner of his eye, Lush spots a group of peacocks wearing monocles and top hats counting their cash at a table at the back. Entertainment is provided by a lemur enthusiastically playing The Entertainer on a grand piano.

Lush, as the only human, feels decidedly unwelcome. The decor is reminiscent of old pictures of American prohibition-era bars: over-sized chandeliers, large Chesterfield couches, and dark parquet. Perhaps aiming to blend in to his animal surroundings, Lush strolls into the bar Reservoir Dogs-style and leads his friends straight to the counter.

The bartenders are two hummingbirds, buzzing from table to table transporting glasses of various liquors. Once they spot our illustrious ocelot, they light up “Olivier, it’s been far too long! How’s life been treating you?” Lush orders a double scotch and slumps down with his head on the counter while muttering “Of course, Olivier is a regular here…” Kiki and Kuku order a coke with two straws.

“Life is good. And you, my sweet?” “Oh, you know. Nothing is quite like it used to be. Who’s Mr double-scotch-and-head-on-the-counter?” “This, right here, is my good friend Lush. He’s actually the reason I’m here. Is Flavio available?” The hummingbird turns around and shouts: “Flavio! Olivier is back and wants to talk to you!” Lush briefly lifts his head before putting it right back where it was almost. What emerges from the back room is another hummingbird with a pink mohawk and a heavy gold necklace.

“Olivier, old sport, how are you?” Flavio shouts. “Flavio, allow me to introduce you to my good friend, Mr. Lush.” Short (somewhat awkward) hand-wing-shake. “Lush, this is Flavio Flamingo, the best bartender in London and probably the best drinker in the country.” “Is that so?”, Lush replies sarcastically. Flavio puffs out his chest and raises a hummingbird eyebrow. “That sounds like a challenge, old sport!” Lush accepts. The hummingbird is about the size of half of Lush’s bespoke Imposter and sons shoe. Flavio winks at the hummingbird bartenders. Lush can feel the tension grow and a little crowd begins to form around the two competitors. The first two shots of Jägermeister are placed on the bar, one with a little straw. “Oh, how I hate Jägermeister”, thinks Lush. Flavio sets down at the bar across from Lush. “On three, we begin.” The audience, which is steadily growing, yells “Three!” and both opponents swallow their drinks and exhale in disgust. “Two more!” They are downed as soon as they are placed on the bar, as are the next. This continues for about nine or ten rounds, until Lush finally falls off his chair and lies face-down in the middle of the bar. After a ten-count, his zebraffe cornerman springs into action and takes care of his downed combatant.

Flavio, meanwhile, downs a final shot and says “Let this be a lesson to you, old sport. Humans can’t drink!” Mr Flamingo turns to Olivier. “Now, how can I be of service, Olivier?” Reading the surprise on the ocelot’s face, he explains with a laugh: “Mine were flat coke.” Olivier smiles and rolls his eyes. Classic hummingbird! “Listen, Flavio, we’re in a bit of a pinch and I can’t think of anyone better to help us.” MM/DC/EG

Maximilian Mogg

Kreativdirektor & Chefredakteur

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

Kurz nach der Rechtskurve zeigt Olivier gleich auf einen nahegelegenen Gullideckel. Sie halten mit einem Ruck aus dem Galopp und Lush und Olivier heben den Deckel aus der Fassung und schieben ihn zur Seite, während Kiki und Kuku mit den Hufen ungeduldig tabbeln und Schmiere stehen.  Keiner scheint ihnen zu folgen.  Ruckzuck klettert die kleine Katze in den dunklen Untergrund – Lush lässt den Zibraffen den Vortritt und kraxelt dann seinen Freunden nach.  Während er den Deckel wieder zuzuschieben versucht, brüllt der Ozelot:  “Bist Du des Wahnsinns?! Ich brauch’ hier noch Licht, um die Laterne zu finden. … Ah da … ist sie ja.”  Olivier zückt sein kleines Funhill-Feuerzeug und entzündet die Öllampe.  Er gibt der Truppe ein Handzeichen: “Hier entlang!”  Lush schiebt mit aller Kraft den Gullideckel zu und springt von der Leiter runter … rein in die stinkende Kloake.

Es riecht abartig nach Rattengift … Exkrementen und verwesendem Essen.  Die Londoner scheinen sich nicht besonders gut zu ernähren, denkt sich Lush.  Während alle vier sich die Nase zu halten – Lush hat sich leider viel zu spät die Hose hochgekrempelt -, waten sie durch die pechschwarzen Abwasserkanäle von London.  So tief unter seinem Niveau kann Lush sich nicht erinnern, jemals gewesen zu sein.

“Wo führst Du uns hin, Olivier?”, fragt Kiki neugierig.  “In eine Bar!”, antwortet der Ozelot.  Lush stöhnt laut und bleibt für einen Moment stehen … dann rafft er sich zusammen.  “Zunächst einmal:  Es ist wahrscheinlich erst irgendwie so um 4pm und Du denkst schon ans Trinken?  Zweitens: Wir werden von der Polizei verfolgt und dann gehen wir in einen öffentlichen Raum?”, schreit Lush wutentbrannt und zeigt Olivier den Vogel.  “Zu erstens:  Im Glashaus bitte nicht im Hellen onanieren.” Punktgewinn Eins für den Ozelot. “Zu zweitens: Ist keine öffentliche Bar! Beruhig’ Dich und heul’ leise!” Spiel, Satz und Sieg für den Kater.  … Für die nächsten Minuten herrscht ein wenig bedröppelte Stimmung und alle stapfen durch das Abwasser, als Kuku die Stille mit einer Frage unterbricht: “Was heißt eigentlich onanieren?” … Olivier interveniert mit einem Klopfen an einer stählernen Tür. “Wir sind da!”, flüstert er. “Ich übernehme das Sprechen … Ihr das Grinsen, verstanden?”

Ein Augenschlitz öffnet sich – kein Augenpaar zu sehen.  “Code?”, hört man von der Tür. “Flamingos trinken nicht nur Wasser.”, antwortet der Ozelot bestimmt.  Sesam, öffne Dich … die Tür geht auf.  In der Bar angekommen, traut Lush seinen Augen kaum.  Eine Banditenbar voller Tiere.  Der Türsteher ist ein blauer Wellensittich in einem überbetont engen, schwarzen Anzug.  Leoparden in Ledermotorradkluft trinken gerade ihr wahrscheinlich zehntes Bier. Aufreizende Gazellen in Strapsen räkeln sich an der Bar.  Pfauen mit Monokel und Zylindern zählen laut am Tisch ihr Bargeld.  In einer Ecke spielt ein Lemure voller Enthusiasmus The Entertainer an einem schwarzen Flügel.

Lush bemerkt, wie die Blicke ihn als einzigen Menschen durchbohren.  Das Interior erinnert derweil an die Prohibitionsbars der 20er Jahre. Riesige Kronleuchter, großzügige Chesterfield-Couches und dunkles, durchgelatschtes Parkett.  Die Vier begeben sich in übertrieben selbstbewusster Manier in Richtung – Reservoir Dogs Style – Tresen.

Zwei weibliche Kolibris scheinen den Service zu übernehmen.   Sie fliegen zu zweit von Tisch zu Tisch und transportieren Wasserkaraffen, leere und volle Gläser und Crackers.  Als sie kurz an der Bar verschnaufen, sagt die eine: “Olivier! Du… hier?  Lange nicht gesehen! Wie läuft das Leben?!”  Lush lässt den Kopf auf den Tresen knallen und bestellt einen doppelten Scotch … klar, dass Olivier hier Stammgast war.  Was auch sonst??  Kiki und Kuku nutzen die Gelgenheit und bestellen eine Cola mit zwei Strohhalmen.

“Mir geht’s sehr gut. Und Dir, Schätzchen?”  – “Ach, Du weißt doch … mal so, mal so.  Ist nicht mehr das, was es mal war.  Wer ist Dein Freund mit dem doppelten Scotch und dem Kopf auf dem Tresen?”, antwortet die Kolibrinine mit Zwinkern. – “Das ist mein guter Freund, Lush!  Genau deswegen bin ich hier.  Kann ich mal Flavio sprechen?”  Die Kolibridame dreht sich um und ruft: “Flavio! Olivier will Dich mal sprechen!”  Lush rappelt sich auf und möchte seinen Kopf am liebsten wieder auf den Tresen legen: ein weiterer Kolibri mit einem pinken Irokesen und schwerer Goldkette kommt aus dem Hinterzimmer herausgeflogen.

“Olivier, wie geht es Dir?”, ruft Flavio schon auf halber Strecke.  “Flavio, darf ich Dir vorstellen: Mein guter Freund, Mr Lush.” Kurzes Hände-/Flügelschütteln.  “Lush, das ist Flavio Flamingo.  Der beste Barkeeper und wahrscheinlich auch Trinker der Stadt.” – “Ach ja … Kauf’ ich Dir nicht ab.”, erwidert Lush sarkastisch.  Flavio antwortet: “Lust, es auszuprobieren? Geht auf’s Haus!”  Lush nimmt die Herausforderung selbstverständlich an – des Kolibris Magen ist wahrscheinlich so groß wie sein Eckzahn.  Flavio nickt den Kolibrimädels zu.  Die Gäste schauen auf … es bahnt sich da was an.  Die ersten beiden Shotgläser mit Jägermeister fliegen heran – eins mit kleinem Strohhalm.  Boah, wie ich Jägermeister hasse!, denkt Lush. Flavio setzt sich auf die Bar gegenüber von Lush.  “Auf Drei runter damit!” Das Publikum, das mittlerweile aufgestanden ist, schreit “Drei!”.  Und weg sind die Drinks.  Beide Kontrahenten schlucken die Drinks und atmen voller Ekel aus: “Oähh!” – “Gleich nochmal zwei!”, befiehlt Flavio. Und weg. … nächste Shots … und weg.  Das geht so neun oder zehn Runden.  Bis Lush vom Stuhl fällt und erst mal nicht mehr aufsteht.  Die Zibraffen kümmern sich um den Betrunkenen.

Der Kolibri ist derweil immer noch piepslebendig.  “Soll Dir eine Lehre sein, Mensch!” … “So … wie kann ich Dir helfen, Olivier?”, Mr Flamingo wendet sich an Olivier, der etwas überrascht ob der immer noch guten Konstitution des Kolibris  ist.  “Guck nicht so überrascht. Ich hatte abgestandene Cola! Der wird schon wieder.”, lacht Flavio.  “Wie smart! … Hör’ mal, Flavio, wir stecken in der Klemme und ich glaub’, Du bist der einzige, der uns helfen kann!” MM/JHS/EG

Maximilian Mogg

Kreativdirektor & Chefredakteur

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed