Literary Looks: Joris-Karl Huysmans‘ Against Nature

This time around, Literary Looks takes a closer look at Joris-Karl Huysmans‘ Against Nature (1884). The novel is regarded as one of the foundational works of the Decadent movement. It triggered the moral decay of a certain Dorian Gray and celebrated Théophile Gauthier’s tenet of art for art’s sake.

The novel, lacking anything resembling a causally connected plot, follows the young aristocrat Floressas des Esseintes (henceforth: Des Esseintes). Disgusted by Parisian society, Des Esseintes retreats to a mansion in the periphery of Fontenay. Des Esseintes, who is the last member of his bloodline (due to a history of incestuous relationships), is characterised as a frail young man of thirty, anaemic and nervous, with hollow cheeks, eyes of a cold, steely blue, a small but still straight nose, and long, slender hands.

For fear of making any kind of contact with other human beings, Des Esseintes demands his servants behave as inconspicuously as possible. He avoids society at all costs. However, his self-imposed isolation eventually leads to unbearable boredom and lethargy. Des Esseintes attempts to escape this state by engaging with the arts, the artificial, and any means of aestheticising his existence. His attempts to bring his ennui to an end are moments of uncurbed creativity.

Hence, the reader is confronted with what can only be described as a disturbing journey through the protagonist’s mind. At first, Des Esseintes contemplates the meaning of wall colours. To him, the most pressing question is how specific shades appear when illuminated by his lamps – i.e. under artificial light. He creates eccentric scents, indulges in sexual phantasies and encrusts a tortoise with diamonds and gold. Having decorated his rooms with artificial flowers, produced by some of the most renown craftsmen in Paris, he later turns to gardening and orders a variety of natural flowers. Their appeal, though, lies in the fact that their appearance reminds him of artificial flowers. He wished to go one step beyond. Instead of artificial flowers imitating real flowers, natural flowers should mimic the artificial ones. Eventually, the plants wither, and the tortoise suffocates from its embellishment.

Likewise, Des Esseintes’s insatiable search for new sensory stimuli leads to an ever-increasing exhaustion. When his doctor advises him to return to society in order to improve his health, Des Esseintes exclaims: Well, crumble then, society! Perish, old world! […] To think that I am about to go back into the degraded and slavish mob of the century!

 

Overcoming his initial doubts, Des Esseintes does indeed gather his remaining energy and decides to leave his suburban exile for a trip to London. (Who can blame him?) It is at this point that his interest in clothing becomes most apparent. In preparation for the trip, he needs to decide which outfit to wear for his return to society. He chooses a suit ordered some time before from London. By now, there should be no doubt about his taste in clothing. The suit is grey with a light-grey check. Des Esseintes obviously expects the weather in London to be gloomy, thus, matching the colour of his suit. In combination with the grey suit, he wears lace-up shooting boots with broguing, an inverness-cape, a little round hat, and drab silk socks. An extravagant choice which, nevertheless, seems perfectly adequate in terms of practicality and colour. Despite having meticulously crafted this outfit, Des Esseintes will never actually travel to London. He arrives in Paris, where his journey is supposed to begin, on a rainy, foggy day. The gloominess triggers his imagination which is further supported by the discovery of a London-Baedeker guide book. Right before he is supposed to get on the train to London, Des Esseintes decides that there is absolutely no justification for all the effort. He claims that he has experienced everything that he could have experienced in London anyways. The poignant summary of his journey follows promptly: He loitered idly in this London of the imagination.

Before Des Esseintes had turned to his self-imposed isolation, his clothing was equally extravagant: He won a great reputation as an eccentric, – a reputation he crowned by adopting a costume of black velvet worn with a gold-fringed waistcoat and sticking by way of cravat a bunch of Parma violets in the opening of a very low-necked shirt.

After his abortive trip to London, his health gradually declines and Des Esseintes has to make some changes to his wardrobe. Due to his increasing stomach pain, he no longer feels comfortable wearing a buttoned trouser-belt or a buckled waistcoat. In this phase, I imagine him wearing silk morning robes with Kimono-prints inspired by his fascination for Japan. The prints might resemble the motifs which adorn his Japanese room. After all, even the ornamentation of his tortoise is modelled on a Japanese drawing of flowers.

Now, did we spark your interest in a trip to London? Are you making an inventory of your favourite writings from the Catholic tradition? Or are you simply trying to escape from society in the upcoming months?

Inspired by Des Esseintes’ wardrobe, we would like to make the following suggestions: For the quieter days spent at home, you might have a look at our pyjamas and morning robes. Kimono-prints in muted colours would certainly look wonderful: cranes, violets and cherry blossoms are classic motifs – either on black or navy silk.

Should you be obliged to take part in society, you might opt for something more serious. We would suggest a mid-grey, three-piece, flannel suit. Instead of a window or gun check, Glen check is a more dashing option. Replace the purple violets with a tie in the very same colour and combine it with a lilac shirt, black Chelsea boots and – should you indeed be taking a trip to London – do not forget your umbrella.

YS/MM/DPFC

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

THE SMEXY PLAYLIST GETS A #SMEXYDJ

It is an absolute pleasure to announce that, from now on, we‘ll have a new guest DJ (aka a #SMEXYDJ) every week who will share their taste in music with us.

After their playlist is published, they will nominate the next #SMEXYDJ. Why?! Because we want to share the best music this world has to offer!

Hören Sie doch mal rein!

────

23. Oktober 2019

Literary Looks: Joris-Karl Huysmans‘ Against Nature

by

Yves Yannick Stork

Diesmal in der Reihe Literary Looks: Joris-Karl Huysmans‘ Against Nature (1884). Der Roman gilt als Grundlagenwerk der Decadence, er ist mitverantwortlich für den moralischen Verfall des jungen Dorian Gray und zelebriert das von Théophile Gauthier postulierte Dogma: Art for art‘s sake.

Frei von einem stringenten oder gar kausal verknüpften Plot, dreht sich Against Nature um einen Aristokraten namens Floressas des Esseintes (ab hier: Des Esseintes). Ausgelaugt und angewidert von der modernen Pariser Gesellschaft zieht er sich in eine Vorstadtvilla in Fontenay zurück. Er ist der letzte Verbliebene eines jahrhundertealten Adelsgeschlechts (Inzucht wird als Grund für den Niedergang der Des Esseintes angeführt) und wird zu Beginn als ein hagerer junger Mann von dreißig Jahren, anämisch und nervös, mit hohlen Wangen, kalten, stahlblauen Augen, aufwärtsgerichteter, aber gerader Nase und trockenen, zarten Händen charakterisiert.

Aus Angst vor jeglichem Kontakt zu anderen Menschen fordert er sogar sein Personal auf, möglichst unauffällig durch das Anwesen zu schreiten, um seine Aufmerksamkeit nicht zu erregen. Die Außenwelt meidet er gänzlich. Doch die Isolation führt zu großer Langeweile und Lethargie. Des Esseintes entflieht diesem Zustand, indem er sich der Kunst, dem Künstlichen und jeglicher Form von ästhetischer Ausgestaltung seines Lebens widmet. Exzessive Momente der Kreativität sollen seinem Ennui ein Ende bereiten.

So beginnt eine durchaus verstörende Reise durch die Gedankenwelt der Hauptfigur. Zunächst beschäftigt sich Des Esseintes mit der Wahl von Wandfarben. Er wählt die Pigmente unter anderem danach, wie sie sich im Licht seiner Lampen verhalten – in künstlichem Licht also. Er kreiert exzentrische Düfte, schwelgt in sexuellen Phantasien und verziert eine Schildkröte, die er als Haustier hält, mit Gold und Diamanten. Nachdem er seine Zimmer lange Zeit mit künstlichen Blumen von höchster Handwerkskunst schmückte, übt er sich im Gärtnern und lässt echte Blumen beschaffen. Die Krux: Die Blumen sind nun zwar echt, sie wirken jedoch, als seien sie künstlich. Doch die Pflanzen verwelken und auch die Schildkröte wird schließlich von der Last der Edelsteine erdrückt.

Auch bei Des Esseintes führt die unersättliche Suche nach immer neuen Sinnesreizen nur zu einer immer noch größeren Erschöpfung. Als ihm ein Arzt schließlich rät, wieder ins gesellschaftliche Leben zurückzukehren, um seinen Gesundheitszustand zu verbessern, ruft Des Esseintes: Brich zusammen, Gesellschaft! Stirb, alte Welt!

Des Esseintes befolgt schließlich den Ratschlag seines Arztes und entscheidet sich, doch noch einmal das vorstädtische Exil zu verlassen, um nach London zu reisen. (Wer könnte es ihm verdenken?) An dieser Stelle wird sein Stilbewusstsein besonders deutlich. In Vorbereitung auf die Fahrt wählt Des Esseintes das Outfit, das er für seine Rückkehr in die Gesellschaft tragen wird: einen seinerzeit in London bestellten Anzug. Spätestens jetzt sollte klar sein, dass Des Esseintes guten Geschmack hat. Der Stoff dieses Anzugs ist mausgrau und hat ein hellgraues Karomuster. Natürlich, so vermutet Des Esseintes, wird es in London regnen. Welche Farbe würde also besser ins Bild passen als grau? Dazu trägt er Jagdstiefel mit Budapestermuster und dunkelgrüne Seidenstrümpfe. Ein Inverness-Mantel und ein runder Hut komplettieren die Reisegarderobe. Eine extravagante Wahl, die jedoch in Farbgebung und Praktikabilität hervorragend auf das Reiseziel abgestimmt ist. Trotz des akribisch zusammengestellten Outfits wird Des Esseintes nie nach London reisen. Das regnerische Wetter in Paris und die Entdeckung eines London-Baedekers verhelfen Des Esseintes‘ Imagination zu neuer Hochform. Kurz bevor er in den Zug nach London steigen müsste, sieht er keinerlei Anlass mehr, die Strapazen der langen Fahrt auf sich zu nehmen. Er habe in seiner Phantasie sowieso alles erlebt, was zu erleben gewesen wäre: Er faulenzte in diesem fiktiven London.

Bevor er sich in seine selbstauferlegte Isolation zurückgezogen hatte, war seine Kleidung ebenfalls außerordentlich extravagant: Er kam in den Ruf eines exzentrischen Sonderlings nicht zuletzt dadurch, dass er weiße Samtanzüge und goldverbrämte Westen trug; als Krawatte trug er im tiefen Ausschnitt des Hemdes einen Strauß Parmaveilchen.

Nachdem er vom Versuch seiner London-Reise zurückkehrt, verschlechtert sich sein gesundheitlicher Zustand allmählich. Aufgrund seiner Magenbeschwerden muss Des Esseintes seine Garderobe anpassen. Er vermag weder ein festgeknöpftes Beinkleid noch eine anliegende Weste zu ertragen. In dieser Phase stelle ich mir Des Esseintes in seidenen Morgenmänteln vor, die, seiner Faszination für Japan nach, an Kimonos erinnern dürften. Bedruckt mit Motiven, die auch sein japanisches Zimmer zieren. Schließlich lässt er sogar die Verzierung seiner Schildkröte nach dem Vorbild einer japanischen Blumenzeichnung anfertigen.

Sollten Sie nun in Verlegenheit geraten sein, eine London-Reise zu planen, Ihre Lieblingswerke der katholischen Tradition zu inventarisieren, oder bereiten Sie sich auf einen Rückzug aus der Gesellschaft vor?

Dann würden wir, in Anlehnung an Des Esseintes, folgende Garderobe empfehlen: Für ruhige Tage im trauten Heim eignen sich unsere Pyjamas und Morgenroben ideal. Hier sind Kimono-Muster in gedeckten Farben sehr gut vorstellbar: Kraniche, Veilchen und Kirschblüten – zum Beispiel auf dunkelblauer Seide.

Sollte Ihnen der Sinn doch nach etwas Gesellschaft stehen, empfiehlt sich ein mittelgrauer Dreiteiler aus Flanell. Anstelle des einfachen Karos würde ein Glencheck-Muster sicherlich hervorragend aussehen. Ersetzen Sie die lilafarbenen Parmaveilchen im Ausschnitt mit einer Krawatte in ebenjener Farbe. Dazu ein fliederfarbenes Hemd, schwarze Chelsea-Boots und – sollten Sie tatsächlich nach London reisen – vergessen Sie auf keinen Fall Ihren Regenschirm.

YS/MM/JHS

Sommerferien 2020

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren, 

 

von Sonntag, dem 16.08.2020, bis einschließlich Montag, den 07.09.2020, bleibt das Atelier geschlossen. Wir freuen uns darauf, Sie im September wiederzusehen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Ihr Maximilian Mogg