Admired Attire: Christophe Lemaire

Of absolute favourites, beloved pieces, and everything else we always reach for in our wardrobes; that is the theme of our new series entitled Admired Attire. Each episode, we will be presenting pieces (clothing, footwear, or accessories) which are essential to our wardrobes and giving them their moment to shine. Today’s focus will be a pair of trousers by Christophe Lemaire.

The July heat was searing between the glass façades of Frankfurt’s skyscrapers. Primarily looking for a place to cool down, I stumbled into a shop. Barely taking in my surroundings, I walked past rack after rack of clothing. Already mentally prepared to leave, I was steeling myself to brave the scorching temperatures when I caught sight of a pair of trousers. It was love at first sight. The high rise, the two internal pleats, the straight legs, the wide hem, the thin cotton fabric with the slightest sheen, and that colour! The interplay between the rich ochre and the sheen is absolutely astonishing. I was transported back to summers spent in the south of France.

Upon trying them on, it was the high rise and the straight cut that convinced me immediately. Add to these the wide hem breaking slightly on the shoe and the effect of endless legs is complete. From the side, the silhouette is long and boxy, with a timeless elegance. This generous and airy cut makes everything look and feel effortless. Trousers like these are the perfect response to the skinny jeans which dominate the urban landscape nowadays. A wide cut leaves much to the imagination and that is the way I like it. Newly acquired pair of trousers by Christophe Lemaire in hand, I stepped out of the shop into the long-forgotten summer heat.

I like to imagine Lemaire designing these trousers while thinking back to his childhood in Dakar and his time spent working at Yves Saint Laurent’s studio in the 1980s. Of course, he is older now and has since gone solo, but, while his collections consist of classic pieces (there is not a trend in sight), his personal history always feels present. Suits are cut wide and combined with loose-fitting shirts and t-shirts. Coats are often belted and closely resemble kimonos. While most looks are monochrome with earthy tones and muted colours, there is always a light sprinkling of colour in each collection. The result is a timeless range defined by its consistent design and uncompromising quality.

About five weeks after my serendipitous encounter with Lemaire’s work, I met with Maximilian to have my measurements taken for a suit. As if by coincidence, I was wearing the trousers by Lemaire. I had combined them with a loose-cut grandad-collar shirt which, although not by Lemaire, plays in to his aesthetic. What is certainly no coincidence is the fact that some of the key characteristics of the trousers’s design (most notably the high rise, the pleats, and the wide straight cut) were incorporated into my order from Mr Mogg. And so it was that only a few weeks after stumbling upon one of my new favourite pieces, another found its way into my wardrobe. However, that is a story for another time… I am off to the Côte d’Azur. Au revoir et à bientôt! YYS/MM/DC

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

Admired Attire: Christophe Lemaire

Von absoluten Lieblingsteilen, Favoriten des Alltags und allem, wonach wir immer wieder greifen, wenn wir unsere Garderoben öffnen. Genau das ist auch der Zweck dieser Serie: Sie beleuchtet einzelne Kleidungsstücke und Accessoires, die zentrale Bestandteile unserer Garderobe darstellen und schon lange auf ihren großen Auftritt warten. Im ersten Teil: eine Hose von Christophe Lemaire.

Zwischen den Glasfassaden Frankfurter Hochhäuser staute sich die Sommerhitze. Es war ein gleißender Tag im Juli, als ich – auf der Suche nach etwas Abkühlung – einen Laden betrat. Zögerlich schlenderte ich vorbei an den Regalen und bereitete mich schon wieder auf die drückende Temperatur der Straße vor, als ich eine Hose entdeckte. Der Schnitt und die Farbgebung fielen sofort auf: Der Bund sitzt sehr hoch und verfügt über doppelte interne Falten. Die Beine sind geradegeschnitten und enden in einem weiten Saum. Der Baumwollstoff ist dünn und glänzt leicht. Die Farbe, ein roter Ockerton, der durch den Glanz des Stoffes zusätzlich an Tiefe gewinnt, ist fantastisch. Er weckt verschwommene Erinnerungen an Sommerurlaube in Südfrankreich.

Der hochsitzende Bund und die geradegeschnittenen Beine überzeugten mich auch bei der Anprobe: die Silhouette wird gestreckt, und am Saum entsteht eine klare Kante über dem Schuh. Da die Hose bis zum Saum kaum schmaler wird, entsteht eine boxenartige Seitenlinie. Als Antithese zu den meist sehr engen Hosen, die die Stadtbilder heutzutage prägen, wirkt das gerade Bein zeitlos und elegant. Da der Stoff nicht zu nah am Bein sitzt, entsteht in der Bewegung ein fließender Effekt. So trägt sich die Hose äußerst bequem und es bleibt Spielraum für die Betrachter.

So verließ ich den Laden voller Enthusiasmus – die Hitze verdrängt – mit einer Hose von Christophe Lemaire. Lemaire, der beim Entwurf der Hose wohl vor allem an seine Kindheit in Dakar und seine Lehre bei Yves Saint Laurent in den 1980er Jahren dachte, arbeitet inzwischen unter eigenem Namen. Die Kollektionen bestehen aus klassischer Herrenmode – Trends spielen hierbei nur selten eine Rolle. Die weit geschnittenen Anzüge werden durch lockere Hemden und T-Shirts ergänzt. Mäntel werden oft mit Gürteln versehen und deuten auch in der Silhouette Kimonos an. Zwischen Erdtöne und gedeckte Farben mischen sich bunte Tupfer. So entstehen zeitlose Kleidungsstücke, die eine klare Formsprache aufweisen und kompromisslos gefertigt sind.

Fünf Wochen nach Entdeckung der Hose war ich mit Max Mogg verabredet, um Maß zu nehmen für einen Anzug. Ich trug die Lemaire-Hose und kombinierte sie mit einem luftigen Hemd aus weißem Leinen. Das Hemd war dabei zwar nicht von Lemaire, der Stehkragen und der lockere Schnitt wären jedoch ganz in seinem Sinne. Einige Elemente der Hose, wie der hohe Bund, die internen Falten und das geradegeschnittene Bein finden sich auch in der Hose des Anzugs wieder. Und so zog einige Zeit nach der Lemaire-Hose ein weiteres Lieblingsstück in meine Garderobe ein. Doch hierzu mehr in einer weiteren Episode… YYS/MM/JHS

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed